Explore Dickinson County


Thank you for visiting
Dickinson County

Dickinson County looks to the future of the state and of our country as the youngest of 83 Michigan counties. It was organized from parts of Marquette, Menominee, and Iron counties by Act 89 of the Laws of 1891 of the State of Michigan.  The Act was approved by the State Legislature on May 21, 1891 and took effect on October 2, 1891.

The county was named for Donald M. Dickinson, who served as U.S. Postmaster General under President Grover Cleveland.

Three cities in Dickinson County:  Iron Mountain was incorporated in 1875; 
Kingsford became a village in 1923 and a city in 1947; Norway became a city in 1868. 

The rest of the County is governed by townships.

Breen, Breitung, Felch, Norway, Sagola, Waucedah, West Branch

Dickinson County elected officials and government departments
Dickinson Courthouse

Our government


Our community

Jake Menghini Museum

Our history

LAke Antoine Entrance

Our recreation